Learn about Scholarly articles
Your professors tell you to use scholarly sources, but what's the difference?
These resources will help you understand why scholarly sources are better for research.
Search our databases to find articles and other music and fine arts related materials online. You can click directly on the links below or find a complete list of library databases by choosing ALL DATABASES on the library website
Music and Fine Arts Databases
Additional databases
Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) is a multi-disciplinary database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books available through EBSCOhost. The database also provides access to current Associated Press video content back to 1930. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including biology, food science, landscape architecture, urban planning, engineering, animal science, law, and general sciences.
As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Searchable cited references. It is a superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
JSTOR provides growing access to archival journals . The available collections include a range of content in the disciplines of language and literature, history, education, sociology, art & art history, philosophy and religion.
Some journals may be available only in print format. These are available on the main floor of the library, periodicals shelves. Listed below are music print journal titles:
Using Discovery Search to find articles
You can also find journal articles from a Discovery Search on our library website. Here is a short tutorial on searching for journal articles in Discovery.
Searching a library database is different than searching Google. For example, you don't want to type in "the theme of tradition in Fiddler on the Roof as it relates to family ."
Instead, break down those concepts... they are your keywords.
Then, use the Advanced Search option in the database to put each term in its own box.
Remember, you probably will want to select the options for Full Text and Peer Review so you can find the best articles out there for your paper!
Have a concept, story title, etc. that is more than one word? Use quotation marks to search them together, like "Fiddler on the Roof."
Keywords not working? Try thesaurus.com for other suggestions!
