Waggoner Library: Music and Fine Arts Research Guide: Music Websites

Music Websites

Copyright Crash Course
Developed by librarians at the University of Texas
Copyright Registration for Musical Composition
From the U.S. Copyright Office
Copyright Term and Public Domain in the U.S.
From Cornell University, a timetable of items in the U.S. moving to public domain
Freesound Project
Database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds
U.S. Copyright Office
Administers the nation's copyright laws and provides impartial, expert advice on copyright law and policy

NetHymnal
Lyrics, sound, scores, and more for 1700+ Christian hymn and gospel songs

JazzBiographies.com
2200 jazz biography pages
The Outside Shore
Founded by musician and educator Marc Sabatella, here you will find the classic work, A Jazz Improvisation Primer, and other resources
PianoGroove
In-depth video lessons on jazz piano chords, jazz piano scales, and jazz chord progressions

The Classical Music Navigator
Site compiling information on 500 classical composers and their works. Includes index by form and style
History of Classical Music
Classical music history and timeline with selected recordings - by Naxos Records
LC Digital Collections
Digital collections from the Music Division of the Library of Congress
Loeb Music Library (Harvard)
Collection of digitized scores and libretti available from Harvard's Loeb Music Library
Music History 102
A guide to Western composers and their music - part of the Internet Public Library,

Musicals101.com
Cyber encyclopedia of musical theatre, film and television
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
A guide to the Library of Congress's collections in music, theater, and dance

The Aria Database
Collection of information about opera and operatic arias
OperaGlass
Detailed information on many operas, including libretti, source texts, performance histories, source texts, synopses, discographies, and role credits

ASCAP
American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers - a professional organization of songwriters, composers, and music publishers
BMI
Largest music rights organization in the U.S.
Christian Copyright Solutions
Partners with ASCAP, BMI and SESAC to offer performance licenses for religious organizations
Pro Music Rights
RIAA
Recording Industry Association of America - trade organization representing the recording industry in the U.S
SESAC
Performing Rights Organization representing songwriters, composers, and music publishers
SGA
Songwriters Guild of America, Inc. -
SoundExchange
Non-profit collective rights management organization designated by the U.S. Congress to collect and distribute digital performance royalties for sound recordings