Skip to Main Content

Music Education Research Guide

WorldCat Discovery Search

Materials in Waggoner

Waggoner Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) classification system for shelving books.  It is an alpha-numeric system, containing both letters and numbers.  The letters designate the general subject matter of the material while the numbers provide more specific information.  Music-related books are shelved in the 'M' category on the second floor of the library. Oversize music-related books are shelved in the Oversize collection on the second floor.  Reference materials are shelved in the 'M' category on the main level and can be used in-house. The three general categories for music are

M - Music (vocal and instrumental)

ML - Literature on Music (includes music history and composer biographies)

MT - Musical instruction and study

Searching Discovery for Books

  • Begin at the library homepage
  • Enter your search terms, click on the Books icon, then the green search icon
  • Use filters on your Discovery search results to limit to:
    • Library - Trevecca Nazarene University collection
    • Format - Print Book
  • Results will be print books held in the Waggoner Library collection

 

Music scores, both vocal and instrumental, are housed in the ELC (Instructional Resources Center) on the ground level of Waggoner Library. 

Searching Discovery for Music Scores

  • Begin at the library homepage
  • Enter your search terms and click on the green search icon
  • Use filters on your Discovery search results to limit to:
    • Library - Trevecca Nazarene University collection
    • Format - Musical score
  • Results will be music scores held in the Waggoner Library collection

 

Waggoner Library has over 1,000 music CDs available for checkout, including classical, gospel, and popular recordings. CDs are housed on the ground level of the library in the ELC (Education Learning Commons).

Searching Discovery for Music CDs

  • Begin at the library homepage
  • Enter your search terms and click on the green search icon
  • Use filters on your Discovery search results to limit to:
    • Library - Trevecca Nazarene University collection
    • Format - Music CD
  • Results will be music CDs held in the Waggoner Library collection

Waggoner Library has over 200 music DVDs.  DVDs are housed on the ground level of the library in the ELC (Education Learning Commons).

Searching Discovery for DVDs

  • Begin at the library homepage
  • Enter your search terms and click on the green search icon
  • Use filters on your Discovery search results to limit to:
    • Library - Trevecca Nazarene University collection
    • Format - DVD video
  • Results will be DVDs held in the Waggoner Library collection