Waggoner Library: Archives: Locating Archival Collections

Library History Databases

American Slavery Collection, 1822-1922 This link opens in a new window
Civil War Primary Source Documents This link opens in a new window
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society This link opens in a new window
African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window

History LibGuides

FLARE: Living History

FLARE: Living History: A Foray into Archival Research and Digital Public History

HIS 3170: Latin American History

HIS 3260 - History of East Asia

HIST 3300 Women's History

A research guide for HIST 3300 - Women's Lives in American History

Citation Guides

Citation Tools

APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian, AMA documentation styles

In the world of e-research, there are more data sources available than ever, which means researchers need highly efficient ways to manage vast amounts of information easily. RefWorks is a powerful online research management, writing and citation tool.

Tennesee Founding & Landmark Documents

Tennessee Founding & Landmark Documents This link opens in a new window
Significant records in the formation and early history of Tennessee are presented here for the first time in digital form taken directly from the originals, with full transcription and accompanying historical text. These Landmark Documents are available for citizens and students to search, study, and download.

The Tennessean

Tennessean (2010-recent) This link opens in a new window
Recent issues of The Tennessean (known until 1972 as The Nashville Tennessean) is the principal daily newspaper in Nashville, Tennessee, USA. Its circulation area covers 39 counties in Middle Tennessee and eight counties in southern Kentucky.
Coverage: 2010 - recent (3-month embargo). The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers, and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable.

Finding and Evaluating Archives

The Society of American Archivists has the following information about locating archival resources:

How do you locate archives that might have materials appropriate for your research? In addition to using online search engines like Google, here are some resources to consult:

Consult bibliographies and works cited sections in books on your topic. Where did the information come from?
Contact other experts in the field. Which repositories did they visit for their research?
Look for websites dedicated to your topic. Do they list any archives?
Talk to a reference librarian at your local library about accessing the WorldCat database, which includes listings for archival materials stored in libraries all over the world.
Check Archive Finder at http://archives.chadwyck.com/home.do. This site contains listings from thousands of American and British archives (requires purchase or subscription).
Check ArchiveGrid at http://beta.worldcat.org/archivegrid/. This database contains nearly a million collection descriptions from thousands of libraries, archives, and museums.
Read the full list of resources here

Click here for information on how to find archival collections

Tennessee Electronic Library

TEL- Tennessee Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
The Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) is a collection of 40+ databases that provide access to over 400,000 magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, essays, podcasts, videos, e-books, primary source materials, and more!

Citing Archival Sources

Click here for information on citing archival sources.

Purdue OWL

The Purdue OWL has information & examples of correct formatting for the APA 7th edition and MLA 8th edition styles.

Tennessee Virtual Archives (TeVA)

Tennessee Virtual Archives TeVA

A digital repository of Tennessee history and culture created by the Tennessee State Library and Archives. The mission is to bring electronic versions of the state’s rich collections to a wider audience. TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.