Skip to Main Content

Christian Ministry

about

 

Get started finding the right journal article for your research needs using Discovery Search.

Primary journal databases in the area of Religion are:

Ways to Find Articles
 
SUBJECT or TOPIC SEARCHING:
Most of the time you'll be searching for journal articles by a topic or subject. 
  • Start at the library A-Z Databases Page
  • Here you can choose a popular database or choose a subject list of databases 

WHAT ABOUT PEER REVIEWED ARTICLES?   

Databases such as ProQuest and ATLASerials have limit options on result lists for Peer Review.

Use those limiters to narrow your results to peer reviewed sources. For more description and information:

JOURNAL TITLE SEARCHING:
Sometimes you'll need to find the actual article from the bibliography, could be an article you need to read for class or perhaps you found it in a related book. It's simple to pull up the actual article if you know the journal name but it's done differently than searching by subject. First we verify the library has the journal.
 
  • Click the Advanced Search link above the Discovery search box on the library homepage.
  • Type the name of the journal in the first search box.
  • Scroll down and click Limit Your Search
  • Under Format, limit results to Journal/magazine
  • Under Library, select Trevecca Nazarene University, then enter.
  • On the result list click the Access Online button to open the journal.
  • Typically you land at the Issues page for the journal. There will be a link to Search Within.
  • Enter your article title
  • View it online, print, email or download a PDF copy.

Browsing Journals

Peer Reviewed

Many writing assignments require students to use "research," "scholarly", "peer reviewed", or "referred" journals. These terms are often used interchangeably, although "peer reviewed" is the most clear and specific way to designate this type of publication.

Peer reviewed or Referred journals are the most important sources of information for many scholars. These journals do not publish an article unless it is recommended by other scholars/experts. Often this recommendation must be made blindly, without the reviewer knowing who the author is.

A research article will almost always appear in a peer reviewed journal. These are articles in which the author(s) are reporting the results of research they have conducted. They are one of several types of articles that such journals routinely publish.

Some writing assignments require finding a variety of article types from journals, magazines or trade publications.  

Databases have the option to limit search results to a peer reviewed journal. The images below, from ProQuest Central, ATLASerials, Academic OneFile, and Business Source Complete, illustrate where the limit options are in the databases.

 ProQuest

 

ATLASerials

 

 

Gale's Academic OneFile

 

EBSCO's Business Source Complete

ATLA Religion Database® with ATLASerials® 

Waggoner library provides access to these two premier religion databases(ATLA RDB® and ATLASerials®) with one stop searching. Covering all fields of religion from 1949 to present. They included full text of major religion and theology journals.

Tutorials below demonstrate how to use unique database search features on ATLA’s databases. You may also view these tutorials on the ATLA YouTube Channel. If you experience difficulty viewing the closed captioning, you may need to download the latest Adobe Flash Player plugin.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

JSTOR includes scholarships published in more than 2,450 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Known as an archival database, it provides users with Full-Text coverage of articles published prior to 2008 (although the coverage varies for each journal). You don't search JSTOR for current news or issues.

Learn how to use JSTOR effectively by viewing these videos. 

Ministry Matters™

Ministry Matters™ is a community of resources that includes Bible dictionaries such as Interpreter's Bible Dictionary and commentaries including the New Interpreter's Bible Commentary. 

You can do sermon research with the Bible commentaries, find the perfect video to discuss with your class, select prayers and music for a transformative worship experience. But take a minute for yourself, too. Listen to an inspiring sermon, read an invigorating leadership article, or chat with other leaders about what’s keeping you up at night. (Chances are, they’ve been there too.)

*Note: Ministry Matters™ is limited to 10 simultaneous users. If you get turned away please try again later.

Below is a list of Bible reference sources within Ministry Matters.

 

Online Religion Journals

  • Didache: Faithful Teaching is an interdisciplinary academic journal offered on-line that explores the intersections of Christian conviction, culture, and education for the Church of the Nazarene & other international Wesleyan communities in higher education.
  • Global Missiology includes contributions from international researchers, practitioners, and scholars who have a global perspective on missions.
  • Preacher's Magazine is a preaching resource in the Wesleyan tradition published by the Church of the Nazarene.
  • Wesleyan Theological Journal is a publication from the Wesleyan Theological Society.
  • Biblical Studies.Org.Uk includes over 18000 theological articles that are available free of charge

A list of additional free Religion Journals can be found HERE