Skip to Main Content

Nursing Research

Chat

chat loading...

Here are our reference hours.

In the world of e-research, more data sources are available than ever, which means researchers need highly efficient ways to easily manage vast amounts of information. 

RefWorks, a powerful online research management, writing, and collaboration tool, is designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Learn more about RefWorks

Click the tab above entitled Learn RefWorks to get started understanding this amazing tool.

View the RefWorks Guide for tutorials, options, and services provided by RefWorks, or download the brochure for how-to-steps.

Value of Using RefWorks Reference Manager

  • RefWorks is available anywhere. It's cloud-based.
  • RefWorks will create a virtual library of resources you collect; you have unlimited storage space.
  • PDF & Microsoft Office full-text files can be uploaded into your virtual library to allow for reading and annotating.
  • RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) integrates into Google Docs and Word (PC, MAC, or Online versions) for in-text citing as you write.
  • Resources can be easily organized into folders.
  • Resources can easily be exported online into RefWorks from library databases or web-based pages and quickly add a reference from your own collection.
  • RefWorks can be synced with a DropBox account for offline use.
  • RefWorks is FREE for Trevecca University students and faculty.

What is a reference manager?

A reference manager is a piece of software that can help you keep track of the resources you've used in an assignment. This is especially helpful when you are using a large number of resources—if you're writing a long essay, research project, or thesis, for example. The software can insert in-text citations and reference lists in your work. However, it doesn't always do so accurately, and you will likely need to enter the information into the software manually anyway. The biggest advantage is that the software maintains a library of your resources and helps you organize them.

Common reference managers include RefWorks (Subscription but free to enrolled Trevecca students and faculty). Zotero is a free download), Mendeley (free to download), and  Microsoft Word also have a citation/reference list function. However, it cannot be easy to use accurately. Please note that as of Jan. 2022, the Word tool has not been updated to the APA 7th edition.

Citation generators

Citation generators are online tools to help you create in-text citations and reference lists like what you see in a Discovery search or a library database. However, the reference list entries generated by these tools are often inaccurate, and you will likely have to edit the citation in some way. Always check computer-generated references against the APA 7th Publication Manual. Common citation generators include KnightCite or EasyBib.

Pros and cons of RefWorks

Pros:

  • Apply the APA 7th - Trevecca 2021 Institution style to your citations as you create a bibliography that ensures 95% accuracy. This video shows how to find and apply  Trevecca's APA 7 style in RefWorks. Click here. 
  • Stores a record and even full text of the sources you have used in your work.
  • Ensures that in-text citations correspond to reference list entries and vice versa.
  • Cloud-based so access is simple anywhere you have an Internet connection.
  • Easily organize content.

Cons:

  • It's not perfect. You still have to know APA to catch any problems.
  • Editing your in-text citations can be a nuisance (e.g., for secondary citations or when you want to use a narrative rather than a parenthetical citation). Once you are used to the nuances of the software, it becomes much easier.

Learn RefWorks

The following tutorials train you on how to effectively use RefWorks. They are listed in order. 

Documentation - Support Webpages

Problems with RefWorks?

RefWorks Support Contact Information
  • United States & Canada (toll free): +1 800 889 3358
  • Outside North America: +800 4997 4111 or +1 734 707 2513
  • Email: support@refworks.com

Slow upload processing time for the full text

Individual students can email RefWorks.Support@exlibrisgroup.com, identify they are having a problem with upload processing. The tech support team may be able to complete the upload process for them. 

Activation Email problems

1-800-521-0600, ext. 74440

Call this number for RefWorks Tech Support if you did not receive an activation email. Be sure you are not using a mobile device when creating your account. Use your laptop or computer for this step.

Learn more about RefWorks tools

URL formatting in the Citation

One of the ways an RW user can access the full text of a citation that was imported into RW is to click on the URL found on the citation record. The problem is that currently, the URL does not always link correctly. RefWorks is aware of the problem and are working to resolve it. Here are two options to mitigate this issue for an RW user. 

  1. In RefWorks, select the citation (the background becomes a blue color). Then click on the pencil icon to edit the citation (the edit window is on the right). Lastly, copy and paste the citation URL into a browser. NOTE: The copy/paste does not work UNLESS the edit function has been opened. Now the citation will open correctly.  
  2. RW users can upload the full text of a citation into RW, which eliminates the need for using the URL. Steps to follow for this process can be found here https://library.trevecca.edu/refworks/fulltext

Creating an account?   Click here to create your initial account

Already have an account?  Click here to log in!
TIPS for using RefWorks
  • Always choose the NEWEST version if asked to choose a RefWorks platform, not the Legacy option.

  • Institution Style:

Use the APA 7th - Trevecca 2021 Institution style to create an APA 7 formatted bibliography.

The video below shows how to find and apply Trevecca's APA 7 style in RefWorks.