Skip to Main Content

Dual Enrollment Students

WorldCat Discovery Search

What is Discovery Search?

  • Single search box that searches across a variety of library content
  • Provides access to a variety of physical and digital materials - books, online journal articles, print journals and magazines, DVDs, musical scores, newspaper articles, etc.
  • Links directly to online content in databases
  • Filter searches by format, peer review, publication date, topic, etc.
  • Discovery is a great starting point for research, especially for locating books and other items physically held at Waggoner. It should not be the only tool used in research, use specific databases too.

Online access is 24/7. The library website and online catalog provide access to all library collections, resources and services. Click the tabs above to learn more.

Books and eBooks can be located through Discovery Search

  • Over 90,000 print and 200,000 eBooks are part of the library collection
  • Discovery search allows you to filter search results by print or eBook collections
  • Discovery search results can be filtered to limit to Trevecca holdings or include other libraries
  • Filters are on the left side on the search results page, they are important tools
  • Print books are checked out for 28 days
  • View the tutorial below to have a better understanding of looking for books
Discovery search also connects to journal articles. View the tutorial below first. Be sure you apply the correct filters for results to represent peer reviewed Trevecca articles.
 
Article Title Search - Use this if you have a citation and need to pull up the full article.

Multidisciplinary databases are listed below. A Discovery journal article search is a great starting point but searching directly from a database allows you to research deeper into your topic and uncover more relevant resources.

WHAT ABOUT PEER REVIEWED ARTICLES?  WHAT ARE THEY AND HOW DO I FIND ONE? 
Review this information before you begin your search!
 
What are Peer Reviewed Articles?
     Peer reviewed articles have undergone an editorial process by content experts. Watch this video for more information.
 
How do I Find Peer Reviewed Articles in Library Databases?
     Most databases have a checkbox that limits all search results to peer reviewed articles.
 
JOURNAL TITLE SEARCHING:
Sometimes you'll need to find the actual article from the bibliography, could be an article you need to read for class or perhaps you found it in a related book.  It's simple to pull up the actual article if you know the journal name but it's done differently than searching by subject.
  • Click the 'Advanced Search' link above the search box on the library homepage.
  • Type the name of the journal in the first search box. Change the tag to be 'Journal Source'
  • Type the article title in the second search box. Change the tag to be 'Title', click the search button
  • On the result list click the 'Access Online' button to see the full text

Films on Demand is a collection of streaming videos from several publishers including Films for the Humanities, PBS, BBC, & other documentary producers.

Jump here to search Films on Demand.

Go MOBILE! 

Note: Users must sign in with your TNU username and password to access the videos on the Films On Demand app.