About Google Scholar
Click here to search Google Scholar
There's Google and then there's Google Scholar. Certainly you are familiar with Google, the search engine. Google Scholar is different, has a different URL and a big difference in content. Google describes Google Scholar this way:
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Content here is more scholarly, that would fit college level research. It is similar to a library database but you may not have free access to the full text in Google Scholar like you do in the library databases. If you use Google Scholar be sure you link to our library holdings so your results will include free Trevecca access. See the related tab above for steps to do this. If there is something you find with no full text you can request it through interlibrary loan (ILL), a service of Waggoner library. Learn more about ILL here.
Link Google Scholar Results to Trevecca Library Collection
Google Scholar provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Link your results to Trevecca holdings to take advantage of Google Scholar.
Steps to customize Google Scholar to show results from Trevecca's library.
Do this first BEFORE you begin a search.
Interlibrary Loan
No full-text access for something you found in Google Scholar? Don't pay for it but instead use Interlibrary Loan (ILL)!
ILL is a free service providing full-text articles and book loans for resources not in Trevecca's collection. Items can be requested online through in one of two ways:
1. Find the item in Discovery (our library search on the library website) and click on its title to view the details. There will be a purple 'Request Item through Interlibrary Loan' button that you can click which will attach the item's information to your request so that you don't have to type it out.
2. If the ILL request button for a title in Discovery is unavailable, use our online interlibrary loan form (you will need to type in the item details)
Important Notes: Your Trevecca email and the 11-digit Campus ID number from your ID card are both required on all ILL requests
If you have questions or need assistance, please call (615-248-1338) or email us (ill@trevecca.edu)
Features of Google Scholar
How are Google Scholar results ranked?
Google Scholar aims to rank documents the way researchers do, weighing the full text of each document, where it was published, who it was written by, as well as how often and how recently it has been cited in other scholarly literature.
Features of Google Scholar
